PrintFor Press info or Booking
Please Contact George Portz
georgeportz1@gmail.com
618-632-1384

105 South High Street
Shiloh, IL 62269

2017 Schedule

 

June 10 Sat Glen Carbon IL– Heritage Museum 1:00

June 15 Thur Nashville IL Concert Series – Memorial Park 6:00

June 17 Sat 30th Annual Purina Farms Festival- Gray Summit MO 10:00

June 18 Sun 30th Annual Purina Farms Festival-Gray Summit MO 10:00

June 23 Fri Marine IL Homecoming @ Village Park 7:30

July 08 Sat Suson Park Concert @ Tesson Ferry Rd MO 7:00

July 10 Mon Fosterburg IL Concert Series 7:00

July 22 Sat Lost Valley Lake, Gerald MO (Members only) 4:00

July 27 Thur Grafton IL Downtown Concert Series 7:00

July 28 Fri Montgomery City MO Concert Series 7:00

July 29 Sat Private Party 5:00

Aug 05 Sat Zoar UCC Church Picnic – New Hanover (Columbia) IL 4:00

Aug 12 Sat St. Rose IL Homecoming 5:00

Aug 15 Tue Hayner Library Concert @ Alton IL Square Mall 6:30

Aug 18 Fri Pinckneyville IL Thresherman’s Show – Fairgrounds 10:00

Aug 19 Sat Freeburg IL Homecoming @ City Park 1:00

Aug 20 Sun “DARE” Car Show – Edwardsville IL High School 2:00

Aug 25 Fri Marthasville MO Concert & Dance in the Park 7:00

Sept 08 Fri Shiloh IL Homecoming 6:00

Sept 09 Sat O’Fallon, MO City Park – Fall Craft & Bluegrass Festival  10:30 am

Sept 09 Sat Maeystown IL – Bluegrass Show  5:00

Sept 10 Sun Folk & Bluegrass – Am Legion, Edwardsville IL 1:00

Sept 16**Sat 37th Murphysboro IL Fiddle-Banjo Contest & Show 5:00

Sept 17 Sun St Mary’s Valmeyer IL 4:00

Sept 23 Sat Festus MO Traditional Music Festival-West City Park Noon

Sept 24 Sun Festus MO Traditional Music Festival-West City Park Noon

Sept 30 Sat Grant Fork IL – Centennial 2:30

Oct 01 Sun Pumpkins Galore – Wright City MO 1:00

Oct 08 Sun Fireman’s Park Concert Series – Maryville IL 3:00

Oct 15 Sun Pumpkins Galore – Wright City, MO 1:00

Oct 21**Sat Arcadia Valley Fall Festival Fiddle Contest– Ironton MO 11:00

Oct 22 Sun “Oktoberfest” at Hidden Lake Winery – Aviston IL 2:00

Oct 28 Sat Meadows Halloween Event – Lake St. Louis MO 11:00

Nov 04**Sat 36th Perry Biggs Memorial Fiddle Contest – Patoka IL 5:00

Nov 11 Sat Private Party – Bridgeton MO 4:00

Nov 12 Sun Columbia IL American Legion – Eppinger Concert 7:00

Dec 02 Sat 12th Mascoutah IL – American Legion Holiday Show 7:00

“The Friends of Bluegrass”

George Portz & The Friends of Bluegrass, founded in 1978, blends its fiery Bluegrass roots with traditional Irish and Louisiana Cajun music.  The band is based in southern Illinois and includes members from Illinois and Missouri.  The band performs dozens of shows a year throughout southwest Illinois and eastern Missouri.  A typical set contains bluegrass, traditional country, bayou/Cajun, and Gospel music that entertains audiences of all ages.  in addition, the band hosts various fiddle contests each year.

Band Members:  George Portz, Ranger Dave Montgomery, David Dalton, Zach Hardesty, Kathie Pohlman, and special guest singer Brenda Cook.